Trifecta: This one’s worth a try

Although Trifecta, the newly opened restaurant at Royal Garden, Juhu, looked classy and appealing, the dining experience initially proved to be a tad disappointing for me. The Oriental food section on the menu seemed unusual and extraordinary in terms of the choice of dishes. I was excited, but as I ate the first spoonful of my burnt garlic chicken soup, I realised it contained oodles of MSG aka ajino moto, which I am severely allergic to.

That was rectified, but it was a long wait before my Homemade Spring Chicken Tortellini, Garden Vegetable Broth arrived. It was mediocre in taste, although had a great visual appeal.  The lemon grass chicken potli too was extremely dry and the flavours were not too exciting. The chicken satay and steamed chicken momos, which my friend tried, passed the test with flying colours.

Food Trifecta (Pic 1) copy

For me, Trifecta was a washout, but alas I was wrong. As soon as our main course, of the Grilled Basa with Potato Rösti in Curry Lemon Sauce and Florentine Duxcelle Stuffed Chicken Breast, Creamy Mash with Porcini Dusted Sauce was served, I was floored. Not only was the presentation par excellence, but the flavours, textures and taste, too were unparalleled. These were easily five star quality dishes which Chef Sandy aka Sarvesh had created. And that too, at affordable prices. Incredible.  The continental cuisine is easily one of the best I have ever had. They have a vast array of Indian food too, but we decided to skip that.

The dessert, bailey’s mousse cake, made in-house, was exotic to say the least.

It is a swanky place with a great ambience and good food. The F&B staff needs to get a little more proactive, attentive and energetic and be able to give suggestions to the guest.  The person serving us was exceptional though.

It is a perfect choice for an exciting continental meal. The well-stocked bar too is an added plus for those who drink. It is definitely worth a try!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.