A Morning Well….spent!

Wellness. Well, that word means different things to different people. To me, wellness, denotes, a healthy mind and body. For which of course, one needs to eat healthy food, do physical exercise, have a good night’s sleep and more.

No wonder, the first time I came across the Westin Mumbai Garden City’s six pillars of wellness, I couldn’t help thinking how they had got it absolutely right. Eat well, sleep well, play well, work well, move well and feel well. And I completely relate to these. It is wellness, encapsulated, so aptly.

I have always admired the Starwood Group’s Westin brand,  for being the front-runners in the wellness space. Very few hotels are really concerned about a guests’ well being as he travels and is away from home, some times for long stretches.

Lara Dutta, as their Well-being Brand Advocate for Asia Pacific,  is indeed the perfect choice. A working lady, a mother, Lara epitomizes fitness, health and well-being and is an inspiration to many.

After having heard Lara speak straight from the heart about wellness, at the well-being movement meet, I was rejuvenated and energized sufficiently. But even more so, as I sat enjoying the array of farm fresh salads crafted specially for our well- being by Executive Chef Rahul Dhavle and his team, under the expert guidance of Santosh Johri, Director F&B at Westin Mumbai Garden City.

20151020_125832

Crunchy, fresh, an interesting mix of ingredients with a medley of textures and flavours juxtaposed, the salads proved to a meal by themselves. Some first time combinations and pairings I came across.

There was more to come. Purple potato gnocchi, pumpkin ravioli, beetroot risotto et al. I enjoyed the bite the gnocchi had to it and yet, was melt in the mouth. The purple potato as an ingredient, is relatively new to me, and I thought it has been brilliantly incorporated into a gnocchi. The desserts were of course decadent. But I indulged guilt free as was assured there were no preservatives, artificial flavours etc in the food served. When at Westin, you can be sure.

IMG_20151020_13331620151020_134734

Fresh fruit based refreshing drinks, attractively served in glass jars did the rounds as we chatted with the hosts at Westin Mumbai. I relished my water melon and basil juice as I braced myself to face the onslaught of the Mumbai heat outside once again. But I was now ready.

Some days, you just feel so well. Thank you Westin Mumbai Garden City.

Leave a Reply

