Decadent French Treats: Gaylord Mumbai

I have a fetish for Afternoon tea. Something I have fancied right from my Enid Blyton days. So an invitation for High tea at Gaylord Mumbai, an iconic restaurant excited me no end. And to make it even more exciting was the fact that Chef Lionel Villaron, a famed pastry chef from France was the chef in the kitchen, whose delicacies, we were to taste.

image9

I began with the coffee choux, my favourite. The appearance was inviting and the first bite, set my taste buds tingling. oved every bit of this dainty treat. Chocolate Mille Feuilles, were equally delicious. The mille-feuille, vanilla slice, custard slice, also known as the Napoleon, was well made. Chef Lionel had done justice to this French classic.

image8

In between sips of tea, I chatted with Chef Lionel who told me he loves to keep his pastries simple and enjoys working with fruits in puree form. He lauded how the taste buds of Indians had evolved and thus it became challenging to wow their palates now. His 25 years of experience comes handy no matter where he is.

The cronuts too did not disappoint but the highlight were the Raspberry and Blueberry Bavarois. This decadent dessert with whipped cream and fruits, took me by surprise. An absolute treat for the palate.

image15

Baba Au Rhum and Chocolate crunchy mousse were also on offer. This was pure sin. Having gorged on so many delicious treats, I knew I’d have to walk that extra mile the next day, but I did not seem to mind. Nothing could keep me away from these tasty treats.

With perfect hospitality at Gaylord and the delectable spread from Chef Lionel, I had an enjoyable evening.

Leave a Reply

