Indulge Your Sweet Tooth

‘Tis the season to indulge guilt-free and that is exactly what I did recently at the California Pizza Kitchen, sampling their mouth-watering desserts for the festive season.

Christmas Yule Log, Baked Alaska, Chocolate Eruption and Chocolate Raspberry Mystic were some of the treats on offer.

The Chocolate Raspberry Mystic intrigued me. Chocolate is always my weakness. But this one surprised me. A delicate chocolate mousse combined with winter raspberry marmalade, appeared on my table and it was served with vanilla ice cream. The raspberry and chocolate pairing I thought was perfect and unique. The raspberry marmalade accentuated the chocolate flavour and yet, was subtle. The mousse was creamy and soft-textured. I was in seventh heaven.

Baked Alaska is an old favourite and makes me nostalgic in fact. I love the drama associated with it. Love the way the flambe happens at the table. The strawberry and vanilla Ice-cream, layered between vanilla sponge and Italian meringue, flambéed with rum is the ultimate sin one can treat oneself to.

BAKED ALASKA  01

I decided to skip the Chocolate Eruption with a heavy heart and instead settled for the Christmas Yule Log. After all it is the Christmas season and you cannot miss enjoying this one. It was reminiscent of the ones I used to relish in London. Well-made and with a generous helping of dried fruits and rum. Full marks to this one too.

CHOCOLATE ERUPTION   01 LR

Although Blackberry Bliss sounded divine, I was satiated already. After all, there is nothing better than a mascarpone cheese and yoghurt combo. Add to that white chocolate,Satori Merlot paired with Blackberry compote and Vanilla Ice cream. There is no scope to go wrong am sure. A must try for me on my next visit this week or next.

What is nice is that none of the desserts are cloyingly sweet with overpowering flavours.

All the CPK outlets in Mumbai have these delectable six desserts till January 4 2015. So make sure you don’t miss this chance. The fresh ingredients, large portions and unique flavours are a winning trio. Chef Joshi is truly a culinary wizard.

Leave a Reply

